• Salt Lake City, UT
  • 201-500 employees
  • A: 60 South 400 West
    Salt Lake City
    Utah 84101
  • 40.7559744
  • -111.9024407

Utah System of Higher Education Visit

The Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) is governed by the Utah Board of Higher Education and is comprised of Utah’s eight public colleges and universities and eight technical colleges. The CEO of USHE is the Commissioner of Higher Education. The Commissioner and staff provide statewide leadership, policy recommendations, and execute Board policies, programs, and strategies.

The Utah Legislature grants the Utah Board of Higher Education the power to control, manage, and supervise USHE. The Board’s major responsibilities include selecting and evaluating institutional presidents, setting policy, reviewing programs and degrees, approving institutional missions, and submitting a unified higher education budget request to the Governor and State Legislature.

The Utah Board of Higher Education is comprised of 18 Utah citizens, all appointed by the Governor. There are two student Board members, one from a degree-granting public college or university and one from a technical college.

The Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority (UHEAA) and my529 (formerly the Utah Educational Savings Plan) are also under the oversight of the Board of Higher Education, and both organizations help to guide Utahns through the higher education financial planning process.

Utah Member